Press Releases

2011 BWF Players of the Year: Vote and Tell!

In 24 hours time, we will be announcing the nominees for the 2011 BWF Players of the Year. And for the first time, in 2011, we'd like you to have a say on who should win the crowns.

2011 POTYAt 20:00H (Malaysia's Kuala Lumpur time, GMT +8), we want to welcome you onto our official social media platforms where we will be releasing the nominees for the 2011 edition of the award!

No matter which part of the world you are in, join us on Twitter and Weibo and be the first to know of the 2011 nominees. (Follow us now if you haven't already!)

Once the nominees for both the male and female categories are released, we will open up the voting channels for 24 hours for you to cast your votes and tell us on Facebook and Weibo who do you think are the most deserving of the coveted crowns this year and why.

The voting results and feedback will be submitted to the BWF Awards Commission, and will be used as reference to determine the winners during the BWF Council meeting in Queenstown, New Zealand, next week.

Fans appeal is of growing importance in the criteria of the Player of the Year award.

And we need you to tell us.

The presitigious awards were introduced since 2008 and were won by Lin Dan and Zhou Mi in its first edition. Lee Chong Wei took the 2009 and 2010 Male Player of the Year crowns. Chinese women's singles aces Wang Yihan and Wang Xin took the Female Player of the Year award in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

Who do you think have made the 2011 shortlist? 

Discuss on our official Facebook page and Weibo right now!

« Back

» News archive