Four badminton pairs have been disqualified

Four pairs who contested Women’s Doubles matches in the London 2012 Olympics last evening (Tuesday 31 July) at Wembley Arena have been disqualified by the Badminton World Federation (BWF).

After a hearing this morning before the BWF’s Disciplinary Committee the following pairs were disqualified: Wang Xiaoli and Yu Yang (China); Greysia Polii and Meiliana Jauhari (Indonesia); Jung Kyung Eun and Kim Ha Na (Korea); and Ha Jung Eun and Kim Min Jung (Korea).

The Indonesian and Korean pairs have appealed the decision. The pairs were charged under BWF’s Players’ Code of Conduct – Sections 4.5 and 4.16 respectively – with “not using one’s best efforts to win a match” and “conducting oneself in a manner that is clearly abusive or detrimental to the sport”.

The appeal process is ongoing and a final decision pending. The BWF will hold a Press conference later today following the final decision.

« Back

» News archive