Para-Badminton Athletes Commission Announced

The BWF announced today the four person Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission which was elected yesterday by the players competing at the Para-Badminton World Championships in Dortmund Germany.

The Commission members are:

  - Antony Forster (ENG)

  - Richard Perot (FRA)  

  - Martin Rooke (ENG)

  - Yau Tiam Ann (MAS) 


Profile of the Commission members.

The role of the Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission is to:

  • liaise with players, organise players meetings at tournaments and canvas their views and opinions on rules and regulations, development and direction of para-badminton.
  • represent the views of para-badminton athletes at Para-Badminton Commission meetings through its representatives;
  • report back to the players on outcomes of meetings and representations made at the Para-Badminton Commission meetings.

The Commission will meet in Dortmund in the next few days to elect their own Chair.

Two representatives from the BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission will sit on the BWF Para-Badminton Commission, one being the Chair of the BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission. The other will be appointed by the BWF Council on the recommendation of the BWF Para-Badminton Commission to ensure diversity of representation – sport class (standing/wheelchair), gender (male/female) or regional representation.

The BWF Para-Badminton Commission is distinct from the BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission.

The BWF Para-Badminton Commission provides expert advice to the BWF on the training, development and competition needs of those participating and competing in para-badminton.



« Back

» News archive