History of World Championships


Histroy of World Championships



The BWF World Championships is held every year except for the year of an Olympic Games. It is a showcase of the very best in the sport and it determines who are the World Champions in each of the five disciplines, men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles. The first World Championships was hosted in Malmo Sweden in 1977, and the Championship was held every three years until 1983, after which, it became a biennial event until 2003. Since 2005 however, the BWF World Championships has become an annual tournament, being hosted every year except in the year of the Olympic Games.





The BWF World Championships is an individual event and each Member Association is invited to enter their players through the world ranking qualification in  men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and the mixed doubles events. For each event, the joint - a third place winner gets a bronze medal, the runner-up silver and the winner is awarded a gold medal and title “World Champion”.



Brief Histroy from 1977 - 2014




Host Cities for BWF World Championships


Year City Year City
1977 Malmo,Sweden 2001 Seville,Spain
1980 Jakarta, Indonesia 2003 Birmingham, England
1983 Copenhagen, Denmark 2005 Anaheim, California , USA
1985 Calgary,Canada 2006 Madrid Spain
1987 Beijing, China 2007 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1989 Jakarta, Indonesia 2008  No Competition
1991 Copenhagen, Denmark 2009 Hyderabad,India
1993 Birmingham, England 2010 Paris, France
1995 Lausanne, Switzerland 2011 London, England
1997 Glasgow,Scotland 2013 Guangzhou,China
1999 Copenhagen, Denmark 2014 Copenhagen, Denmark